Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 14th, 2010

Here we go!

Yesterday saw the start of my Marathon training in earnest! I started running at the end of September of last year with the explicit aim of running the Richmond Marathon on November 13th 2010 to benefit a wonderful local charity based just outside of Harrisonburg VA – Still Meadows Enrichment Center and Camp. Along the way I have had some great experiences, made new friends, learned a great deal about mental strength and how far I can push myself.

Over the course of the next 4 months I will be updating you on my progress. Please support me in anyway you can, the link to the sponsorship page is HERE. Don’t worry you don’t need to pay right now, just make a commitment. There is a standard sponsorship to complete the race but you can also choose a bonus amount for me to complete the marathon in under four hours. Currently I weigh 240 lbs so this isn’t going to be easy so I need all the motivation I can get. I will be running this race in Memory of my sister Victoria who died in her early teens from complications resulting from her Cerebral Palsy.

Why am I doing this?

  1. To raise a ton of money for Still Meadows Enrichment Center and Camp
  2. To become a marathoner
  3. To become ultra-fit and shake the excess weight I have gained since moving to America.

What does Still Meadows do?

Please visit this page to see information about this wonderful place.

Read Full Post »